TGA Logo Train Gamers Association (TGA)
Current TGA News will be listed here - Last update Nov 2016

TGA Major Tournament Results for 2016:

Origins was fun as always. Charles Hooks won the Iron Man tournament, with Mark Liberman finishing second.  In the main event, 11 people achieved their four category wins, but Michael Cheng took home the Puffing Billy plaque with a decisive win.  Following Michael were Jeff Jackson, Roger Jarrett, Dave Thornburg (Challenger Class winner), Mark Liberman, Ed Hewlett, Charles Hooks, Ken Gutermuth, Phil Cottrell, Dale Evankovich, and Raechel Sanger.

We had another large turnout of train gamers at Gen Con.  This is a recording: Charles Hooks won the Iron Man, and Mark Liberman was a very close second!  In the Puffing Billy, Jeff Jackson and Dave Beery were tied going into the Eurorails final, which Jeff won by $4 to squeak out the overall win.  Dave finished second, followed by Mark Liberman, Alex Puddifoot (this year's teenage phenom Challenger Class winner), Ken Bachman, Charles Hooks, Scott MacGregor, Roger Jarrett, Ed Hewlett, Raechel Sanger, John Puddifoot, Alan Borowski, Robert Rich, Dave Thornburg, Richard Sheaves-Bein, Anthony Carver, Dave Slidek, and Chris Meyer.  All 18 people listed got their four category wins.

The 22nd Annual National Championship at Railcon was held in a new month and location this year.  After more than ten great years in Denver in conjunction with another converntion, we moved to Schaumburg IL to run Railcon as a stand-alone event.  Turnout was excellent and feedback is mostly positive so we are planning to make Schaumburg our home for the foreseeable future.

As always at Railcon there was intense but very enjoyable competition.  A record 20 people achieved five category wins (it's tougher at Railcon), and several people had a real shot of the National Champion title.  In the end it came down to the Sunday Eurorails final, and Charles Hooks posted a score of 15.9722 to squeak past John Puddifoot who finished at 15.9669.  At least John got to take home the Challenger plaque.  Ken Gutermuth won the Iron Man.  Top 20 finishers and a link to detailed Railcon results are posted on the TGA Home Page.